Anatomy of the Knee – ACL and other ligaments

knee-anatomy acl

Anatomy of the Knee – ACL

The three bone structures of the knee are the femur (thigh bone), tibia (shin bone), and the patella (kneecap). These structures are connected by four major ligaments; ligaments connect bones to other bones. The ACL prevents forward movement (anterior translation) of the lower leg as well as stabilizes the knee from rotational stress of the tibia. When rotational stress is applied when a cut or quick change in direction is performed, the ACL prevents anterior translation of the tibia, thus preventing tibial subluxation during the movement.

The shock absorbing structures between the femur and tibia are the medial and lateral meniscus. The weight-bearing surfaces of the knee are covered by articular surface cartilage allowing the joint to move freely. The menisci act as shock absorbers and work in conjunction with the articular cartilage to reduce stresses placed upon them with movement.

The four main ligaments of the knee are:

• Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL)

• Posterior Cruciate Ligament (PCL)

• Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL)

• Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL)

These ligaments connect the femur to the tibia and provide the structural integrity to the knee. There are other structures within the knee that are important for proper function such as the menisci, articular cartilage and the patella.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: